So last weekend I celebrated my 26th Birthday in Austria’s wonderful Capital Vienna. Knowing nothing about Austrian Food I certainly couldn’t wait to head over and learn all about what traditional food’s and drinks the Viennese people love to indulge in. I learnt lots of things about their culture on my trip, one being that in Vienna there is a multitude of dishes and they do not just enjoy eating traditional Viennese or German foods, they also like to taste other nationality’s specialities too.

I ended up eating in lots of different style restaurants including Italian, traditional English & American. I also did try a few Viennese/German specialities like the Schnitzel & a traditional German Sausage- both were very tasty indeed and If I saw it on a menu over here in London I would certainly give it go. Anyways enough about my trip (you can find all the little details about it over on my other blog ‘Glam Travel Guide’).  In this first part of my post, I am here to share with you all the amazing restaurants I visited over the weekend. Hope you enjoy reading all about them. I will be coming back with the Bar’s at a later date ( as the list is slightly longer), so keep a watch out for that post soon.

Vienna.png

 

Distrikt Steakhouse

Steakhouse.png

I first heard about this place when I was researching Steak Houses in Vienna on Google at the time I had no idea it was in a 5 star hotel. This place popped up at number 1 so I thought I would look into it a bit more to see exactly why it ranked at the top.  Being the steak fan that I am (I like to think I am a bit of a connoisseur), I am really surprised I haven’t come across it before on the net, but I am kind of glad I got to wait to try it out in Vienna for myself first, as not only was the food outstanding, it was a very special evening from start to finish and it certainly made my birthday trip!

The location of the Steakhouse is actually in fact in The Ritz Carlton Hotel, which unsurprisingly has been voted one of the best centrally located hotels in the city. I actually visited this place twice during my stay, once we booked up for a nice Dinner the second time just a fleeting visit for some cocktails, and on both occasions they were turning people away who hadn’t booked a table!  So let this be a lesson, if you want to dine here you definitely must book in advance. Make sure you also mention if it is your Birthday or a special occasion, as my boyfriend told the restaurant it was mine & they brought me out a special homemade cake which was such a nice touch, and extremely yummy! 

The restaurant is open for Lunch and Dinner starting from 12:00 pm (until 6:00 pm for lunch) and it closes at 10:30 pm every single evening. They have several menu options available which can all be found here on their website, you can also make a reservation online here too via their built in Open Table web page, or you can call the hotel restaurant if you prefer (number can be found on website too).

You can find the Ritz Carlton hotel at Schubertring 7, it is centrally located on the famous Ring Boulevard and the nearest underground station to here is Statdpark which is approx 0.2 km away. 

 

Da Mortiz Hurth

da-huth-mortiz

We were fortunate to find this lovely little place one lunchtime (on our third day in, i think), and we were left feeling very full and very happy indeed, and situated just a stones throw away from the back of our Hotel it took no time to get there at all! (approx 5 min walk). ‘Da Mortiz Hurth’ serve some of the best authentic Italian I have come across in Vienna and the dishes are really reasonably priced too which is always a nice bonus. We both opted for their classic wood burn oven  Pizza’a, my fella choose the simple Margarita and I opted for the same but with some added Salami on top and a small glass of wine to wash it all down with. I was contemplating their Pasta too which looked as equally delicious. If Pizza or Pasta isn’t your thing they also serve other dishes too including various fish dishes, chicken and  various salads. There really is something to suit all tastes here.  All in all my meal was impeccable, and the service was very quick too which made the experience even better! I 100% suggest coming here for a bite to eat if you are in the Parkring area.

You can find ‘Da’ Mortiz Huth’ at Schellinggasse 6 (a few streets down from Vienna Marriott Hotel). The nearest underground station is Statdpark and the restaurant is open daily from 12pm until 12am. 

 

Porterhouse

Porterhouse.png

This is another steak house we visited on our trip (we love our Steak in case you hadn’t already noticed), we chose this restaurant on our second evening in Vienna , and although on first impressions inside is not much to look at I couldn’t have been more in love with the food if I tried, (especially the Chocolate Cake Desert). We ended up staying in here longer than we first anticipated, mainly because their dessert and after dinner coffee’s were just so nice we couldn’t leave! For our mains we both chose the Rib Eye Steak (both well done) which we had with fries & their gorgeous creamy peppercorn sauce. It was beautiful, as was the lovely wine to accompany it all with.

We found ‘Porterhouse’ by asking our concierge at our hotel, who kindly booked us a table. I am really glad he recommended this place to us, and I think its safe to say we would be go back in a heart beat, it was also a very short distance from our hotel which was so useful as it meant we didn’t have to get a taxi, so double points go to Porterhouse!

You can find ‘Porterhouse’ at Schulerstraße 19,the nearest underground station to the restaurant is Stubnetor station which is a short walk away. 

 

 Hard Rock Cafe

hrc

So those who know me over on Glam Travel Guide, will already know I speak a lot about H

econd to last evening in Vienna, this was the starting point for our little bar/cocktail/club crawl round the city (we also visited their TGI Friday’s later that evening, but that wasn’t as good as their HRC). We chose to make this evening our ‘big night out’ if you like, because we knew on our last evening we would need to get to bed fairly early to be out the hotel on time the next day.  So off we went to Hard Rock Cafe to begin our night of fun in the city. We had pretty much the whole entire cocktail menu so I won’t bother listing what we drank, hopefully the photo’s explain it all.

You can find Vienna’s Hard Rock Cafe at  Rotenturmstraße 25, the nearest underground from here is Schwedenplatz station. The restaurant is also open till late 1am most nights. 

ard Rock Cafe and I have been to many a restaurant around the world now. I couldn’t come to Vienna and not add to my list could i? We hit up the famous American chain on our s

 

So there we have it, a little round up of most of the places we dined whilst away in Vienna. I am going to be doing a big round up post over on my main website, and will try to include everything we got up to in Vienna including all of the sights we saw whilst there ,please head over to glamtravelguide.co.uk too see that post soon.